US: +1 682-313-6736 Mada: +261 34 99 204 07 [email protected]

Course Descriptions

Course numbering: (AB0000)

The first digit coming after the course name indicates its level:

  • A number in the 1000 series is for a first-year level course.
  • A number in the 2000 series is for a second-year level course and generally requires the corresponding 1000 series as a prerequisite.
  • A number in the 3000 series is for a third-year level course and beyond.

The second and third digits after the course name indicate the series in which the course is included. These digits also provide the sequence in which the courses in a particular series are ordered.

The last digit after the course name indicates the number of credit hours (CH) associated with the course.

Here are some examples:

  • NT1013 is a first-year level course, first in its series (New Testament Survey I), and yields 3 CH.
  • ST1014 is a first-year level course, first in its series (Systematic Theology I), and yields 4 CH.

Glossary

  • Prerequisite: a course that is required prior to taking a particular course.
  • Co-requisite: a course that is required to be taken together with a particular course.

Biblical Studies

GK1013/1023 – NT Greek Grammar I and II

Introduces the student to the grammar and syntax of the New Testament Greek for exegetical purposes. Translating portions of each literary genre of the New Testament texts from the Greek will constitute the bulk of weekly assignments.

 

GK2013 – NT Greek III: Syntax & Textual Criticism

This is a intermediate level New Testament Greek grammar course. It consists of a syntactical analysis of the Greek text of the Gospel of John. Students will translate key passages from Greek to Malagasy. They will also learn the principles of textual criticism of the New Testament and put them into practice.

Prerequisites: GK1013 and GK1023

 

GK2023 – NT Greek IV: Translation & Interpretation

This course focuses on the exegesis of one of the Pauline Epistles. It trains students to acquire the skills of translation. Most importantly, it teaches them to interpret the New Testament Greek by building on knowledge of the grammar and textual criticism and by interacting with exegetical commentaries and articles. Students will be required to write an exegetical paper.

Prerequisites: GK2013

 

BH1013 – Biblical Hermeneutics

Underlining the Bible as God’s Word, this course studies the principles of biblical interpretation and applies them to selected passages and genres from the biblical texts. Part of the attention will be directed to current issues in biblical hermeneutics: feministic, deconstructionist, structuralist, and reader-response approaches.

HE1013/1023 – Biblical Hebrew Grammar I and II

An introduction for students to the grammar and syntax of the Old Testament Hebrew for exegetical purposes. The bulk of the weekly assignments will consist of translating portions of each literary genre of the Old Testament texts from Hebrew into Malagasy.

HE2013 – OT Hebrew III: Syntax & Textual Criticism

This is an intermediate level Biblical Hebrew grammar course. It consists of a syntactical analysis of the Hebrew text of the Book of Jonah. Students will translate key passages from Hebrew to Malagasy. They will also learn the principles of textual criticism of the Hebrew Bible and put them into practice.

Prerequisites: HE1013 and HE1023

 

HE2023 – OT Hebrew IV: Translation & Interpretation

This course focuses on the exegesis of one of the historical books. It trains students to acquire the skills of translation. Most importantly, it teaches them to interpret the Biblical Hebrew by building on knowledge of the grammar and textual criticism and by interacting with exegetical commentaries and articles. Students will be required to write and exegetical paper.

Prerequisites: HE2013

NT1013/1023 – New Testament Survey I and II

Part I covers Matthew to Acts whereas part II encompasses Romans to Revelation. Each part consists of a general overview of the NT as God’s inspired Word in its first century Mediterranean contexts and includes introductory issues such as author, genres, major themes, and theology. Attention will also be given to current critical methods including form, canon, and narrative criticisms.

 

NT2003(A/B) – NT Topic

This is a cross-discipline course that looks at the New Testament theology, Christian ethics, and practical theology angles of relevant topics to the Malagasy context. This enables students to navigate the biblical and Malagasy worlds, or the realms of exegesis and application, by searching the solutions and answers of our contemporary issues from the New Testament.

 

OT1013/1023 – Old Testament Survey I and II

Part I covers Genesis to Esther whereas part II encompasses Job to Malachi. Each part consists of a general overview of the OT as God’s inspired Word in its ANE contexts, introductory issues (author, genres, major themes, and theology), and gives attention to some current critical methods (form, canon, and narrative criticisms).

OT2003(A/B) – OT Topic

This is a cross-discipline course that looks at the Old Testament theology, Christian ethics, and practical theology angles of relevant topics to the Malagasy context. This enables students to navigate the biblical and Malagasy worlds, or the realms of exegesis and application, by searching the solutions and answers of our contemporary issues from the Old Testament.

Theological/Historical Studies

BT1013 – Biblical Theology of Manhood & Womanhood

A survey of the biblical material (OT and NT) regarding God’s design for man and woman. The purpose of this course is to introduce students to a strong and biblically grounded complementarian understanding of gender roles. Such purpose will be carried out in a manner respectful of the egalitarian position(s), as well as of other variations of the complementarian position, yet subjecting every position to rigorous biblical investigation. This course combines men and women students (preferably husbands and wives) in a first part then breaks into separate men and women groups in a second part. This is to allow for in-depth discussions of issues that are specific to each gender.

BS3103/ST3103 – History of the Bible

In this course students seek to answer the question, “How did we get our Bible?” by tracing its beginnings and the process of its writing and transmission. Special attention will be given to the issue of development of both the OT and NT canon. Lastly, the course will also investigate the different translation theories and the issues related thereto.

Prerequisite: ST1013, HE1023, GK1023, and BH1013

BS3203/CH3103 – History of the Second Temple Period

This course traces the history of the Jewish people from the period of the return from exile under Persian rule until the destruction of Herod’s Temple in 70 CE. Political, social, economic, and cultural context will be given attention in the process. The intention of this course is to bridge the contextual and textual gaps between the Old and New Testaments on one hand and between the times of Jesus and the times of the NT writings (first century CE) on another.

Prerequisite: OT1013, OT1023, NT1013, and NT1023

CH1013/10123 – Church History I and II

A basic survey of the history of Christianity, its life setting during the various eras of history as well as the theology of key Christian thinkers. Church History I surveys the period from the New Testament times to the end of the Fifteenth Century (dawn of the Reformation). Church History II surveys the period from the Sixteenth Century to modern times.

HT2013 – Historical Theology: Studies in Early Christianity

This course dives into an in-depth study of patristic theology by looking at the writings of select Church fathers and the theological issues they were addressing.

Prerequisite: CH1013

HT2023 – Historical Theology: Theology of the Reformers

This course examines key theological developments during the reformation and surveys the major contributions of the Reformers and their direct successors.

Prerequisite: CH1023

 

HT2033 – Historical Theology: History of Medieval Thought

A hands-on study of the theological developments during the Middle Ages and the writings of key figures up to the dawn of the reformation.

Prerequisite: CH1013 and CH1023

 

ST1014/1023 – Systematic Theology I and II

An Introduction to Christian Doctrine, surveying the principal themes that make up the core of Christian Theology. This course will help students to get acquainted in a broad fashion with Christian Theology. As an outcome, students should be able to point out and/or evaluate their own theological commitments relating to the different loci within Christian Theology such as Scripture, theology proper, the person and work of Christ, the person and work of the Holy Spirit, Biblical anthropology, sin, salvation, the church, and the end times.

 

ST3003 (A/B) – Systematic Theology: Advanced Topic

This is an in-depth study pertaining to a particular locus of theology. The student will be introduced to the different views and approaches to the topic and will reflect upon formulating his/her own conclusions regarding the different positions. This course will also lead the student into investigating the ways in which his/her own views about the topic change the way he/she practices his/her faith and relates to other Christians and denominations.

Prerequisite: ST1014 or ST1023

Practical Theology

AM2003 – Applied Ministry (Discipleship & Mentoring)

This is a practicum course that involves the student in a two-level covenant relationship of discipleship and mentoring. The student will study and practice biblical disciple-making by committing to a covenant relationship with a young believer (disciple) to lead him/her to spiritual growth through the practice of spiritual disciplines. Concomitantly, the student will also commit to a covenant relationship with a more mature believer (mentor) to help him/her grow in faith as well as develop his/her leadership skills.

Prerequisites: SF1011, SF1021, and EV1013

 

BC1013 – Introduction to Biblical Counseling

An introduction to the foundations of Biblical Counseling with an emphasis on the role of Scripture in Counseling.

BE1013 – Introduction to Biblical Exposition

This is an introduction to the basics of faithful biblical exposition. The course will combine all students who are envisioning any type of ministry in the church which involves some level of biblical teaching/exposition in addition to pastoral leadership. This includes women’s ministry, youth and children ministries, missions/evangelism, etc. This course also includes separate preaching/exposition practicums for men and women.

Prerequisite: GK1013 and GK1023

BE2013 – Advanced Biblical Exposition

This course is an in-depth exploration of the different biblical genres (Gospels, didactic passages, parables, OT and NT narratives, poetry and wisdom literature, etc.) for the purpose of faithful biblical exposition.

CM2003 – Christian Ministry

An introduction to the biblical foundations for Christian ministry. This course primarily focuses on pastoral leadership but also gives attention to the various other types of ministries in the local church with an aim to help students orient themselves regarding their perceived callings.

Prerequisites: SF1011 and SF1021

 

SF1011/1021 – Spiritual Formation I and II

These courses lead freshly enrolled students through the process of implementing spiritual disciplines (scripture mediation and memorization, prayer, corporate worship, Christian fellowship, and evangelism) to enhance spiritual growth right from the start of their rigorous academic lives. The aim is to cultivate a culture of Christian fellowship and accountability among students.

Ethics & Philosophy

CT1012/1022 – Critical Thinking & Logic I & II

An introduction to the basic principles and skills involved in correct reasoning, with emphasis on detecting and avoiding formal and informal logical fallacies. Part II will dive deeper in symbolic logic and in analysis of philosophical arguments.

ET1013 – The Christian Home

The study of the biblical and theological foundations of the Christian home. Students will be led to think through the different issues relating to the life of a Christian family and the place and roles of each of its members.

 

ET1023 – Christian Ethics

A study of the biblical, historical, and theological foundations of Christian ethics. Students will be equipped to apply these foundational elements in their decision making on current issues such as drugs, alcohol, family, race, biomedical ethics, economics, and politics.

ET2003 – Bible and Moral Issues

Study of how the Bible addresses significant moral concerns. Students will have the opportunity to learn moral teachings of both the Old and New Testaments, evaluate significant hermeneutical models for addressing contemporary moral issues from a biblical perspective, and investigate biblical materials that pertain to several key contemporary moral issues including marriage and divorce, abortion, and homosexuality.

PH1003 – Introduction to Christian Philosophy

An introductory course to the main areas of philosophy (Metaphysics, Epistemology, axiology, and logic) and how they relate to a Christian worldview. The student will learn how to do philosophy as a Christian.

Prerequisite: ST1013

PH2003 – Philosophy of Religion

A study of selected philosophical issues related to religious commitment, such as the relation between faith and reason, the existence of God, and non-theistic challenges to Christian belief.

Prerequisite: ST1013

 

Evangelism & Missions

EV1013 – Evangelism

An introduction to evangelism touching on the biblical, theological, and practical applications within the context of the local church. Special emphasis will be given to church growth and personal witnessing.

 

EV1022 – Evangelism in Context

This is a practicum that goes with EV1013. This course involves students in active participation in Evangelism as a direct application of the theoretical aspects studied in EV1013.

Corequisite: EV1013

MI1013 – Introduction to Missiology

An introductory study of the theory and practice of Christian missions including biblical, theological, historical, philosophical and strategic principles and practices.

MI2003 – Missions Practicum

This course takes the form of a field trip (mission trip). The student will enter a hands-on experience of cross-cultural evangelism (missions) under the supervision of a mentor/professor.

MI1023 – Introduction to World Christianity

The course is a survey of the development of Protestant missions endeavors, found both in the present day as well as in the past. This offers an intensive engagement with essential themes and theories in the historical and contemporary study of World Christianity.

 

Inter-Disciplinary

CA1012 – Critical Analysis

This course introduces the student to the practice of academic critical analysis. It seeks to develop the skills of accurately identifying, summarizing, analyzing, and evaluating the argument of an author or a text. This course is required for any first semester student (part-time or full-time).

 

LA1x10/1×20 – Academic English / French / Malagasy I and II

This course trains students to read and write academic and theological works. It is not primarily designed to teach spoken languages, although students will be familiar with native speakers (American or French) speaking their languages during the lecture sessions. The workload value of this course is equivalent to 1 CH. This value, however, does not accumulate into the student’s earned credits. Students who fail the course will have to re-take it again until a passing grade is reached.

US: +1 682-313-6736 Mada: +261 34 99 204 07 [email protected]

Description des Cours

Numérotation du cours : (AB0000)

Plus l'étudiant(e) prend des cours, plus il/elle accumule des crédits. La page de premier chiffre après le nom du cours (en deux lettres) indique son niveau :

  • Un nombre dans l'ordre des 1000 indique un cours de niveau de première année.
  • Un nombre dans l'ordre des 2000 indique un cours de niveau de deuxième année et nécessite généralement le cours correspondant dans l'ordre des 1000 comme prérequis.
  • Un nombre dans l'ordre des 3000 indique un cours de niveau de troisième année et au-delà.

Plus l'étudiant(e) prend des cours, plus il/elle accumule des crédits. La page de deuxième et troisième chiffre après le nom du cours indique la série comprenant le cours ainsi que la séquence dans laquelle les cours qui forment une série sont ordonnés.

Plus l'étudiant(e) prend des cours, plus il/elle accumule des crédits. La page de dernier chiffre après le nom du cours indique le nombre d'heures de crédit associé à ce cours.

Voici quelques exemples :

  • NT1013 est un cours de première année, premier dans sa série (Survol du Nouveau Testament I) et pèse 3 heures de crédit.
  • ST1014 est un cours de première année, premier dans sa série (Théologie Systématique I) et pèse 4 heures de crédit.

Glossaire

  • Prérequis : Cours qui est requis au préalable pour prendre un cours particulier.
  • Corequis : Cours qui doit être pris en même temps qu'un autre cours.

Disciplines Bibliques

GK1013/1023 – Grec Biblique Grammaire I et II

Ce cours initie l'étudiant(e) à la grammaire et syntaxe grecque biblique, utiles pour l'exégèse. La traduction de portions de différents genre de textes dans le Nouveau Testament constitueront une grande partie des devoirs de la semaine.

 

GK2013 – Grec Biblique III : Syntaxe & Critique Textuelle

Ce cours de grammaire grecque biblique est de niveau intermédiaire. Il comprend une analyse syntaxique du texte grec de l'Évangile de Jean. Les étudiants traduiront des passages clés du grec en malgache. Ils apprendront aussi les principes de la critique textuelle du Nouveau Testament et les mettront en pratique.

Prérequis : GK1013 et GK1023

 

GK2023 – Grec Biblique IV : Traduction & Interprétation

Ce cours se concentre sur l'exégèse d'une des lettres Pauliennes. Il forme les étudiants à acquérir les compétences en traduction. Surtout, ce cours leur enseigne à interpréter le grec biblique en assimilant la grammaire et la critique textuelle, ainsi qu'en interagissant avec les commentaires exégétiques et articles. Les étudiants auront pour devoir de rédiger un essai exégétique.

Prérequis : GK2013

 

BH1013 - Herméneutique Biblique

Ce cours initie les étudiants aux principes d'interprétation biblique afin de les appliquer sur différents textes bibliques. Une partie du cours se concentrera sur des enjeux actuels en herméneutique biblique, tels que les approches féministes, déconstructionalistes, structuralistes et réceptionistes.

HE1013/1023 – Hébreu Biblique Grammaire I et II

Ce cours initie l'étudiant(e) à la grammaire et syntaxe de l'hébreu biblique, utiles pour l'exégèse. La traduction de portions de différents genre de textes dans l'Ancien Testament constitueront une grande partie des devoirs de la semaine.

HE2013 – Hébreu Biblique III: Syntaxe & Critique Textuelle

Ce cours de grammaire d'hébreu biblique est de niveau intermédiaire. Il comprend une analyse syntaxique du texte en hébreu du livre de Jonas. Les étudiants traduiront des passages clés de l'hébreu en malgache. Ils apprendront aussi les principes de la critique textuelle de la Bible hébraïque et les mettront en pratique.

Prérequis : HE1013 et HE1023

 

HE2023 – Hébreu IV: Traduction & Interprétation

Ce cours se concentre sur l'exégèse d'un des livres historiques. Il forme les étudiants à acquérir les compétences en traduction. Surtout, ce cours leur enseigne à interpréter l'hébreu biblique en assimilant la grammaire et la critique textuelle, ainsi qu'en interagissant avec les commentaires exégétiques et articles. Les étudiants auront pour devoir de rédiger un essai exégétique.

Prérequis : HE2013

NT1013/1023 – Survol du Nouveau Testament I et II

La première partie couvre les livres de Matthieu aux Actes. La deuxième partie couvre les livres de Romains à l'Apocalypse. Chaque partie englobe une présentation générale du Nouveau Testament comme étant la Parole de Dieu dans le contexte méditerranéen du premier siècle. Cela inclut les questions relatives à l'auteur, au genre, aux thèmes majeurs et à la théologie de chaque livre. Une attention particulière sera donnée aux méthodes critiques actuelles, telles que la critique des formes, canonique et narrative.

 

NT2003(A/B) – Thème relatif au NT

Ce cours est inter-disciplinaire et examine des questions pertinentes relatives au contexte malgache sous les angles de la théologie du Nouveau Testament, de l'éthique chrétienne et de la théologie pratique. Ceci permettra aux étudiants de "naviguer" entre les contextes bibliques et malgache, ou entre le domaine de l'exégèse et l'application, en cherchant des solutions et réponses aux problèmes contemporains issus du Nouveau Testament.

 

OT1013/1023 – Survol de l'Ancien Testament I et II

La première partie couvre les livres de la Genèse à Esther. La deuxième partie couvre les livres de Job à Malachie. Chaque partie englobe une présentation générale de l'Anicen Testament comme étant la Parole de Dieu dans le Proche-Orient ancien du premier siècle. Cela inclut les questions relatives à l'auteur, au genre, aux thèmes majeurs et à la théologie de chaque livre. Une attention particulière sera donnée aux méthodes critiques actuelles, telles que la critique des formes, canonique et narrative.

OT2003(A/B) – Thème relatif à l'AT

Ce cours est inter-disciplinaire et examine des questions pertinentes relatives au contexte malgache sous les angles de la théologie de l'Ancien Testament, de l'éthique chrétienne et de la théologie pratique. Ceci permettra aux étudiants de "naviguer" entre les contextes bibliques et malgache, ou entre le domaine de l'exégèse et l'application, en cherchant des solutions et réponses aux problèmes contemporains issus de l'Ancien Testament.

Disciplines Théologiques/Historiques

BT1013 – Théologie Biblique de la Masculinité & Féminité

Ce cours traite du sujet de la conception de l'homme et de la femme par Dieu, à la lumière des textes bibliques. Le but de ce cours est de présenter aux étudiants une solide compréhension biblique et complémentarienne des rôles de l'homme et de la femme. Ceci sera effectué par une examination respectueuse de la position égalitarienne ainsi que des différentes variantes de la position complémentarienne. Chaque position sera sujette à une étude rigoureuse et biblique. Ce cours inclut, dans une première partie, hommes et femmes (de préférence maris et femmes). Dans une deuxième partie, hommes et femmes seront séparés, ceci afin de permettre des discussions poussées sur des problèmes spécifique à chaque genre.

BS3103/ST3103 – Bibliologie

Durant ce cours, les étudiants chercheront à répondre à la question "Comment nous est parvenue la Bible?" en retraçant son processus d'écriture et de transmission. Une attention particulière sera donnée sur les problèmes de développement des canons de l'AT et du NT. Enfin, ce cours investiguera sur les différentes théories de la traduction ainsi que les problèmes liées à celles-ci.

Prérequis : ST1013, HE1023, GK1023 et BH1013

BS3203/CH3103 – Histoire de la Période du Second Temple

Ce cours retrace l'histoire du peuple juif depuis le retour d'exil sous la domination Perse jusqu'à la destruction du temple d'Hérode en 70 av. J.-C. Une attention particulière sera apportée sur le contexte politique, social, économique et culturel. L'objectif de ce cours est de combler le vide tant textuel que contextuel, d'une part entre l'AT et le NT, et d'autre part, entre les temps de Jésus et ceux des documents du NT.

Prérequis : OT1013, OT1023, NT1013 et NT1023

CH1013/10123 – Histoire de l'Église I et II

Ce cours survole l'histoire du christianisme selon ses paramètres de vie durant les différentes périodes de l'histoire. Il sera porté une attention particulière sur la théologie des personnes clés de l'histoire. Le premier volet traite de la période du NT jusqu'à l'aube de la Réforme (fin du XVème siècle). Le deuxième volet traitera de la période depiuis le XVIème siècle jusqu'aux temps modernes.

HT2013 – Théologie Historique : Études sur le christianisme primitif

Ce cours est une étude approfondie de la théologie patristique en analysant les écrits de certains pères de l'Église ainsi que les problèmes théologiques auxquels ceux-ci ont répondu.

Prérequis : CH1013

HT2023 – Théologie Historique : Théologie des réformateurs

Ce cours analyse les développements théologiques clés durant la Réforme et étudie les contributions majeures des réformateurs ainsi que celles de leurs successeurs.

Prérequis : CH1023

 

HT2033 – Théologie Historique : Histoire de la pensée médiévale

Ce cours est une étude appliquée sur les développements théologiques du Moyen-Âge ainsi que sur les écrits de personnes clés jusqu'aux débuts de la Réforme.

Prérequis : CH1013 et CH1023

 

ST1014/1023 – Théologie Systématique I et II

Ce cours est une introduction aux doctrines chrétiennes, étudiant les thèmes principaux qui composent la théologie chrétienne. Il aidera les étudiants à acquérir une compréhension globale de la théologie chrétienne. À l'issue de ce cours, les étudiants devront être en mesure d'établir ou d'examiner leur propre convictions théologiques relatives aux différentes rubriques de la doctrine chrétienne, à savoir, la doctrine de l'Écriture, la théologie propre, la personne et l'oeuvre de Christ, la personne et l'oeuvre du Saint-Esprit, l'anthropologie biblique, le péché, la rédemption, l'église et la doctrine de la fin des temps.

 

ST3003 – Thème relatif à la Théologie Systématique

Ce cours est une étude approfondie portant sur un locus particulier de la théologie. L'étudiant sera initié aux différents points de vue et approches sur le sujet et réfléchira à la formulation de ses propres conclusions par rapport aux différentes positions. Ce cours amènera également l'étudiant à réfléchir sur les manières dont ses propres opinions sur le sujet changent la façon dont il pratique sa foi et ses relations avec d'autres chrétiens ou dénominations.

Prérequis: ST1014 ou ST1023

Théologie Pratique

AM2003 – Discipulat & Mentorat

Ce cours pratique engage l'étudiant(e) dans une relation à deux niveaux de discipulat et mentorat. L'étudiant étudiera et pratiquera la formation de disciple en accompagnant un(e) jeune dans la foi (disciple) pour qu'il/elle grandisse spirituellement par la pratique des disciplines spirituelles. Conjointement, l'étudiant(e) s'engagera dans une relation mentorale avec un(e) chrétien mature(e) (mentor). Celui ou celle-ci aidera l'étudiant(e) à grandir dans sa foi ainsi qu'à développer des compétences en leadership.

Prérequis : SF1011, SF1021 et EV1013

 

BC1013 – Introduction au Counseling Biblique

Ce cours est une introduction aux fondements du Counseling Biblique avec une emphase sur le rôle de la Bible dans le Counseling.

BE1013 – Introduction à l'Exposition de la Bible

Ce cours est une introduction sur les principes fondamentaux d'une exposition fidèle de la Parole de Dieu. Ce cours s'adresse à tout étudiant qui envisage tout type de ministère dans l'église qui demande un enseignement/exposition de la Bible. Ceci inclut le ministère auprès des femmes, ministère auprès des jeunes et enfants, mission/évangélisation, etc. Ce cours inclut aussi une partie pratique où hommes et femmes seront séparés.

Prérequis : GK1013 et GK1023

BE2013 – Exposition Biblique Avancé

Ce cours explore en profondeur les différents genres littéraires de la Bible (Évangile, didactique, paraboles, narratif, poème, littérature de sagesse, etc.) dans le but d'une exposition fidèle de a Parole de Dieu.

CM2003 – Ministère Chrétien

Ce cours est une introduction aux fondements bibliques du ministère chrétien. Ce cours se concentre principalement sur le leadership pastoral, mais il porte aussi l'attention sur les autres ministères présents dans l'église locale, ceci afin d'aider l'étudiant(e) à réfléchir sur son appel.

Prérequis : SF1011 et SF1021

 

SF1011/1021 – Disciplines Spirituelles I et II

Ces cours dirigent les nouveaux étudiants dans le processus d'implémentation des disciplines spirituelles (méditation et mémorisation des Écritures, prière, culte public, communion fraternelle et évangélisation) afin de renforcer la croissance spirituelle dès le début de leur parcours académique. L'objectif est de cultiver la communion fraternelle et la redevabilité entre étudiants.

Éthique & Philosophie

CT1012/1022 – Pensée Critique & Logique I et II

Une introduction aux principes et compétences de base nécessaires pour un raisonnement correct, en mettant l'accent sur la manière de détecter et d'éviter les erreurs logiques formelles et informelles. La deuxième partie approfondira la logique symbolique et l'analyse des arguments philosophiques.

ET1013 – Le Foyer Chrétien

Ce cours est l'étude des fondements bibliques et théologiques du foyer chrétien. Les étudiants seront amenés à réfléchir sur différents problèmes liés à la vie de la famille chrétienne ainsi que sur la place et les rôles de chaque membre de cette famille.

 

ET1023 – Éthique Chrétienne

Une étude des fondements bibliques, historiques et théologiques de l'éthique chrétienne. Les étudiants seront équipés pour appliquer ces éléments fondamentaux dans leur prise de décision sur des questions d'actualité telles que la drogue, l'alcool, la famille, la race, l'éthique biomédicale, l'économie et la politique.

ET2003 – La Bible & les Questions Morales

Ce cours étudie la manière dont la Bible aborde les problèmes d'ordre moral. Les étudiants auront l'opportunité d'apprendre sur les enseignements moraux de l'Ancien et du Nouveau Testaments. Ils évalueront des modèles herméneutiques pour aborder les problèmes d'ordre moral contemporains selon une perspective biblique. Ils rendront aussi compte des textes bibliques qui traitent directement de certain problèmes d'ordre moral tels que le mariage, le divorce, la question sur l'avortement et l'homosexualité.

PH1003 – Introduction à la Philosophie Chrétienne

Ce cours est une introduction aux principaux domaines de la philosophie (métaphysique, épistémologie, axiologie et logique) et comment ils interagissent avec la vision chrétienne du monde. L'étudiant(e) apprendra à faire de la philosophie en tant que chrétien.

Prérequis : ST1013

PH2003 – Philosophie des Religions

Ce cours porte sur l'étude de certaines questions philosophiques liées à l'engagement religieux, telles que la relation entre la foi et la raison, l'existence de Dieu, et les défis non théistes à la croyance chrétienne.

Prérequis : ST1013

 

Évangélisation & Mission

EV1013 – Évangelisation

Ce cours est une introduction à l'évangélisation en se concentrant sur les applications bibliques, théologiques et pratiques au sein de l'église locale. L'accent sera particulièrement mis sur la croissance de l'église et le témoignage personnel.

 

EV1022 – Évangélisation contextuelle

Ce cours est un stage pratique qui accompagne le cours d'évangélisation (EV1013). Ce stage entraîne les étudiants à une participation active en évangélisation afin de mettre en pratique les aspects théoriques abordés en EV1013.

Co-requis : EV1013

MI1013 – Introduction à la Missiologie

Ce cours est une introduction à l'étude et pratiques des missions chrétiennes, incluant les principes et pratiques bibliques, théologiques, historiques, philosophiques et stratégiques.

MI2003 – Mission Stage Pratique

Ce cours est composé d'un stage missionnaire. L'étudiant(e) sera amené(e) à expérimenter la mission transculturelle sous la supervision d'un mentor/enseignant.

MI1023 – Introduction au Christianisme mondial

Ce cours est une étude du développement des missions protestantes, tels qu'ils sont de nos jours et ce qu'ils étaient dans le passé. Cela permet de se pencher sur les thèmes et les théories essentiels dans l'étude historique et contemporaine du christianisme mondial.

 

Interdisciplinaire

CA1012 – Analyse Critique

Ce cours introduit l'étudiant(e) à la pratique de l'analyse critique académique. Il cherche à développer les compétences afin de pouvoir identifier, analyser, résumer et évaluer l'argument d'un auteur ou d'un texte. Ce cours est requis pour toute nouvel(le) étudiant(e) durant son premier semestre.

 

LA1x10/1x20 – Anglais / Français / Malgache Académique I et II

Ce cours initie les étudiants à la lecture et l'écriture de texte académique et théologique en anglais, français et malgache. Il n'est pas destiné à enseigner le langage parlé même si les étudiants seront confrontés à des personnes natives (anglaises ou françaises) qui parleront leur langue durant le cours. La charge de travail est l'équivalent de 1 heure de crédit. Cependant, l'étudiant(e) ne cumulera aucun crédit à l'issue de ce cours. Celle ou celui qui échoue à ce cours aura à le repasser jusqu'à ce qu'il/elle le valide.